A “Pome”

H
1 min readApr 30, 2019

--

Pome (n); a poem about home.

Home is a feeling

home is a place,

home is a smell

home is a taste,

Home is the comfort of belonging,

the ache of longing,

home is family.

It is in you

And it is in me.

Home isn’t just the roof over your head

Or your side of the bed

It is in you,

and it is in me.

Home is the shade under

your favorite tree

It is those biscuits you love

and that evening cup of tea

It is in you,

And it is in me.

Home is rarely just a space

it is the comfort of an embrace

it is in you,

And it is in me.

Home is the story you find in what you read

someone else’s words

and yet your insides bleed

It is in you,

And it is in me.

Home is the sound of your baby’s first cry,

It is the replaying of the moments after a goodbye,

There is a home in you,

And there is a home in me.

--

--

H

Here to steer clear of the Instagram Influenza. Writing to reflect, disconnect & hoping some of you will find that you can connect.